Presidential candidate NDA Draupadi Mormo to submit the nomination today MIGMG News



Governor of Jharkhand Draupadi Murmo. (Photo: PTI)

New Delhi: The presidential candidate nominated by the BJP-led National Democratic Assembly, Draupadi Murmo, is scheduled to present her candidacy papers on Friday. The sources also informed that Prime Minister Narendra Modi will propose her name to the nomination on June 24, which will be loaned by the party’s national chief JP Nada.

As reported by the sources Ani The BJP invited all its allies to join the nomination ceremony including the Chief Ministers of the countries governed by the NDA.

Meanwhile, People’s National Party Chairman, Meghalaya Chief Minister Konrad Sangma and Nagaland Chief Minister Nevio Rio have already confirmed their candidacy for the presidential election on Friday. It is also said that Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar will also attend during the nomination.

On Wednesday evening, Odisha Chief Minister Navin Patnaik made an appeal to all MLAs in Odisha to support Murmo’s candidacy.

Notably, the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) led by Navin Patnaik is not an NDA ally, but is often seen as supporting the NDA government on important bills and legislation. He has come out publicly and endorsed Murmo’s candidacy for the next presidential election scheduled for July 18.

Addressing a press conference at the party headquarters on Monday, JP Nada announced Draupadi Mormo as the NDA candidate for the upcoming presidential election.

Nada also said the BJP Parliament and all NDA allies had discussed over 20 names before finalizing Murmo as a candidate for the presidential election.

Droupadi Murmu is set to become the next president of India, and if that happens, she will be India’s first female tribal chief and the second woman to hold the presidency of India since its independence.

Droupadi Murmu, a former Minister of Odisha, is the first presidential candidate from Odisha from a major political party or coalition. She continued to break barriers and was the first woman to occupy the state of Jharkhand. She held the position of Governor of Jharkhand from 2015 to 2021.

In 2007, the Odisha Council honored her with the ‘Nilakantha Award’ for Best MLA. She worked as a junior assistant in the Department of Irrigation and Energy between 1979 and 1983. She held several organizational positions in the BJP and held the position of Deputy Head of State Saint Morcha in 1997.

Voting for India’s next president will begin on July 18 while the counting will take place on July 21.

Read also: YSRC expands its support for presidential candidate NDA Draupadi Murmu


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here